Pumpkin Chai Scone Things

Took a break to do some baking.

Mmmmmmmm

P1140740 P1140741

Tasty pumpkin scone things out of what started as a muffin recipe and then something else happened.

How; Preheat oven to 400. lightly coat a baking pan. or line with parchment paper but I don’t have any…

Whisk the following in a large bowl…

–2 cups flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and chai tea spice (cardamom, ginger, cloves, magic), 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt. also added a tsp of some vanilla flavoured sweetener stuffs

–Then cut 1/2 cup butter in, and 1/4 cup molasses. cut in until looks like coarse crumbs. or what you think it should look like.

–Just barely stir in 3/4 a cup chocolate chips and chunks. dark chocolate variety.

–In separate bowl, whisk buttermilk (**or if you dont have that see below) 1/2 cup pumpkin puree

–Add wet to dry, mix but don’t over mix.

–Then came the fun part… knead 4-5 times on a well floured surface. Well Floured being the key. Man was my batter sticky! But, batter up, woman up, suck it up, get hands floury and all in there. (I am not a fan of this kind of texture on my skin, but that is for another rant.) eventually I got it less sticky and kneaded. Kned?

–Once kneaded to a good unsticky manageable dough, flatten with hand to about 8 inches across and 1/4 to whatever size you feel like thick… cut in half, cut halves in half and cut again. basically make about 8 – 10 triangles

–lightly brush with an egg wash

–Bake on the lightly prepared pan for 18 minutes. poke with a thing to see if batter comes off wet on thing, in which case put back in for another 2 mins and poke again. If batter doesn’t come off wet, take out of oven… I don’t need to tell you that though, you know what you are doing…

–I moved to a cooling wrack 2 minutes after. They are still on there. I am afraid to go back in the kitchen, it is crazy in there, flour and pumpkin puree had a party and I don’t want to clean it yet. But I will. In the mean time…

Enjoy in reading nook with coffee.

P1140742

** re buttermilk, I had read that you can sit a cup of milk and a tablespoon of distilled vinegar for 15 minutes. I tried that, I had a couple of chunks in the milk (gross) and that was it. didn’t thicken. its ok I used it anyway (gross?). If I had yogurt around I would have done half milk half yogurt, or maybe just less milk?

Leave a Reply

