Pumpkin (Muffin) Fever

Apparently fall is here. Although it was plus 27 degrees yesterday!

I made the boy wear long pants and a jacket the other day and he was so mad at me by 3 o’clock that I gave up and he can wear what he wants. And we have head colds anyway! Earaches and sore sinuses and energy that drains and wanes.

But I digress. Apparently fall is here. A few branches and bunches of leaves are changing in the trees on the lot. Little splotches of yellow. And some of the grocery stores already have pumpkins out! And every other person is reluctantly admitting an enthusiasm for all things nutmeg?

Me, I use pumpkin pie spice all year round! The Boy notices the difference if I don’t use it in pancakes! But, there is something about pumpkin everything that brings warmth and a sense of tasty fun to fall.

So I was inspired the other evening to finally use up the can of pumpkin purée that has been in the cupboard for who knows how long. Yum?

And on that note; straight from whatever we had around at the moment;

Mum’s Pumpkin Banana Muffins

Need;

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup quick or rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp combination of – cinnamon,  and chai tea spice; nutmeg, ground cloves and ginger and stuff I’m not sure what was in there! (or 1 tsp cinnamon and 2 pumpkin pie mix?)
  •  2 mashed up bananas
  • 2 eggs (medium size?)
  • 1 1/3 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup vanilla yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla (i Really wanted to splash some almond flavouring in but also needed it to be school friendly.)

GOODIES; 1/2 cup chunks or chocochips (these would be soooo very good with walnut bits but again, keeping it school friendly…)

Preheat Oven to 350

In a larger sized bowl, mix dry stuff (first 6 ingreds). I suppose you could sift it all but I just use a whisk to mix.

In another bowl, mix wet. (from bananas through vanilla)

Add wet into dry, mix but not over mix. Stir in Goodies.

Bake in greased muffin tins for 22-30 mins. I would check them after 17 though. Thing is, I have Really Small muffin tins, so. I filled to 3/4 x 12 tiny muffin tins and had just as much left over again. So the rest I put in a small square loaf pan. 

After 17 minutes, they were still gooey inside and ended up baking for 27 minutes, cooled for 5 and took out of pans. 

SO GOOD! I froze half after they were cooled so we can grab them for lunch boxes. But we ate most of what wasn’t frozen within 2 days, so I will likely be popping a couple into the microwave to warm up, soon. In fact, I think I will put the kettle on and make some tea, thaw a couple right now.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

