Ballin Basil Mint Lemonade

I made a Ballin lemonade recently. Is this a good use of the word Ballin? Cause I don’t think I’ve ever used the term before. If it fits in that This lemonade is delicious as fuck, then it is right on time! Yes, I have committed my first Blog Swear, and it is in reference to Basil Mint Lemonade! Cause this Shit is Ballin!

(Ok I have been losing it lately. Summer cabin fever maybe. Maybe cause we were hanging out in the field where all the teenagers were beating each other up with their sweet word spitting, and I came home with a head fulla lingo. DerpDerp)

Now prepare yourselves for some seriously tasty tasting! This stuff is The Goods!

Basil Mint Lemonade

Needs and Dos;

  • 1 1/2 britta filtered water (cause better taste)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup leaves; basil and mint, in combination to fill said 1/2 cup
  • some lemon slices, just slice up a lemon
  • a jugs worth of tasty cool filtered water

OK here we go…

  • Simmer 1 1/2 cup water, with 1 c sugar. simmer that until thick/sugar dissolves…
  • Then, remove from heat and add 1/2 cup fresh leaves; your choice of amounts, either based on what you can pick off the scraggly plants you have growing on the balcony or on what you have around or can beg or steal off the neighbours…  My ratio was 2/3 of the 1/2 cup basil leaves (our plant is ”sweet basil” and top up the rest (you do the math, geez…) with mint leaves. Chop or tear those pretty good…
  • Let all that cool to room temp. I assume when you added the leaves to the sugar melt, you stirred it some good…

Then I filled a jug with Britta water. I’d say any jug will do, but mine is another Britta jug just with the filter holder bits taken out cause I only have one filter and use the other as a juice jug. Ok, where were we now that vital information has been shared? Right. Fill jug with fresh, tasty cool filtered water.

  • Stir a bit of said fresh, tasty cool filtered water into the sugar and leaf mix, mix that baby all up, and stir the whole shebang into the fresh tasty cool filtered water. I like the floaty leaves. In fact, while you are at it, add a lemon’s worth of slices (sans seeds) in to the jug of drinkable water too! Stir that baby all up!
  • I vote leave the floaties in. Give it some interest when you pour it into glasses. But, if you Must, strain or pick out the leaves before adding to the water, somehow. I will leave that up to your imaginations… I do have a couple of handy tea strainers, so an idea is to have one atop yon glass to pour and filter Ballin Lemonade into…

Anyway this stuff is so dang delicious! I might add that it is potent. Intensely! Tastes like it has or should have it some gin in! In fact, my idea is to host a pot luck, and request that someone bring gin. And vodka. And probably ice. Oh, and an a.c. if someone has a portable one around. It’ll be a Ballin Lemonade Party!

2 thoughts on “Ballin Basil Mint Lemonade

Leave a Reply

