Summery School Safe Muffin Mix2!

P1070334

I am pretty sure about 45 seconds ago, there was a muffin on my plate!

Today’s in mumma’s muffin making adventure land, we went on a pantry raid. And the results are delicious. Were delicious. Which also resulted in a tidier cupboard!

Mostly I just used my last coconut muffin recipe to make this weeks nutfree school friendly batch of deliciousness. So this might look like a repeat, but there is a surprise in here. Today’s mission was to use a recipe that called for applesauce, but to use the bowl of mashed up pineapple puree in its stead.

What I came up with I can call  Summery School Safe Muffin Mix2!

First step actually happened on sunday but this was my first chance to get funky in the kitchen. I had 3 rings left of canned pineapple and I knew I wanted to use it in muffins later on. But I also know my son is suspicious of all things chewy in his food. So I knew I had to do something with the pineapple to make it invisible. So, I chopped it up as wee as I could, and simmered it with about a half cup of water and a dousing of sugar. When it was good and mushy, I smushed it more with a fork and set it aside to cool and then refrigerate until I was ready to use it. So a good idea to do this ahead of time, or at least an hour before, put it on and let it simmer down while you do the dishes, and mop the floor that you suddenly realize is a sticky mess. That was how I spent my morning anyway 😀

So to the business of the muffins!

Summery School Safe Muffin Mix2

Set oven to preheat at 400F, Mix the following dry ingredients together;

  • 2 cups flour (in combination of what you have on hand, this time I used 1 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup white all purpose
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used the last of the brown I had around, but you can use what you like best)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • LOTS OF CINNAMON

Then beat these wet ingredients together, in a separate bowl;

  • 1 cup coconut milk (plus maybe a few more dribbles of it if you think your batter isn’t moist enough
  • 1 tablespoon yogurt (I have plain around but vanilla or even coconut would be awesome. why the yogurt? because I had a small container in the fridge that I thought was left over coconut milk but it was actually a dip I had made with yogurt, and cinnamon, and I thought, hey let’s add this! yogurt always does great things in muffin mix!)
  • 1/2 cup pineapple puree (premade, or use apple sauce or some other sauce if you have around, but the pineapple is part of what makes it summery so up to you.)
  • scrapings of coconut oil. I’d say 2 tablespoons, that is what I had around today. if soft like mine was I would just make sure is beat in well with the rest, but if you want to carefully melt some first and let get to room temp that’s great too.
  • 1 tablespoon molasses (cause mama wants to get as much good stuff into these as possible)
  • 1 large egg
  • capfull vanilla extract or even better coconut flavouring if you have it around?!

Once you have mixed the wet into the dry – don’t mix too much, toss in a couple of tablespoons of sweet coconut flakes and at least half a cup of chocolate chips, or the end of a bag, like I did.

Scoop into greased muffin tins, I use small tins and 3/4 full. Bake 16 minutes at 400F and let cool about 9 minutes (or 13 because you forgot) and then move to a cooling rack and of course eat the biggest one immediately!

