Coconut Chocolate Chip Muffins

School Friendly Muffins/ Nut Free as Can Be

P1070177Is it amusing that I try to make nut free muffins and use an ingredient that has the word nut right in the title? Well now, it wouldn’t be Me otherwise! After making my latest batch of muffins (no, not before, of course…) I googled and read up a bit on coconuts and nut allergies. Apparently it is widely believed and practiced that people with tree nut allergies (things like almonds, pinenuts, macadamias…) are ok to consume coconut. PLEASE DON’T TAKE THIS AS  A GREEN LIGHT, I LIVE IN A HOME WHERE WE EAT PEANUTS EVERYDAY AND I AM IN NO WAY A HEALTH OR WELLNESS EXPERT!!! Ok that being said, I feel safe sending these muffins to school. My son has a couple of classmates with nut allergies. They will never come over to our place to visit! But I believe he will be ok to consume his muffins in the same room as them…

In an attempt to be more thrifty and environmentally friendly with the boy’s lunch box, I am determined to start sending more home made goodies with him to school. We are already pretty conscious of healthy snacks. And he is one of the rare kids who will eat apple slices even if they have been in a baggie in his lunch box for half a day. The brown doesn’t seem to deter him. (Thank all the heavens for small graces!) And he always brings his garbage home, because he knows I like to wash and reuse the ziplock bags and containers. What we are going to do with all the yogurt tube wrappers I am not sure, but I don’t want to deter him from his conscienciousness!

Usually baking is reserved for after school treats, but this week I am aiming to change our lunch kit habits. So without further ramblings and digressions, I present to you;

School Friendly Coconut Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients;

Dry

  • 1 1/2 cups flour (This time I used 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1 cup all purpose white flour, as that is what I had around)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder (I am not sure why I chose this amount, just sourced other muffin recipes, and went with it)

Wet

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted and brought to room temp
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (again these are what I had around to use.)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Delicious Extras

  • 3/4 cup shredded coconut, sweetened if prefer
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (mine were dark mini)
  1. Set oven to preheat 350, and line muffin tins or grease them with a bit of butter
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk flour, sugar, salt, baking powder
  3.  In a seperate bowl, whisk oil and butter, egg, coconut milk and vanilla extract
  4. Stir wet into dry, stir until just combined
  5. Gently stir in shredded coconut and chocolate chips (probably toss in another shake of chippies at this point, if it looks a bit low on the chocolate content)
  6. Scoop mix into prepared muffin tins. I did them small, 1/2 to 3/4 full, as I would rather send small muffins than find a bunch of muffin home in the lunch box at the end of the day! I made 12 small muffins…
  7. Bake 18 – 22 minutes. I would test with a toothpick after 18 minutes. mine were still drawing out sticky at 19 so I gave them a few more minutes.
  8. let cool in tins for about 8 minutes, then move onto drying wrack, and of course eat a nice warm one right away!

P1070180

Also fun, is that when I was pulling out the eggs, I had spied a yogurt container. Turned out there was only a couple of spoons worth of yogurt left in there, so I had pulled it out intending to just add it to the mix. But I forgot. So when I was cleaning up (pushing all the dishes into the sink so I could put the wrack out for cooling) I found the yogurt abandoned on the counter.

So, for a Tasty Bonus Treat, pour a bit of the left over coconut milk into the ends of a container of vanilla yogurt, give a couple of good shakes, pour into small cut and have along side your warm muffin!

