Friend of Feline

The bitchy cat has decided we shall be friends.

When I moved in here, I fell instantly in love with The Dog. Even the kids called him My Boyfriend for a while. It isn’t weird, we just snuggle sometimes, a lick of a toe, a pat on the head. It is an easy relationship 😀 He is an easy going guy and I Love’s his silly happy stares.

But the cat. Oh the cat. I declared secretly to my son within days of living here, that I Don’t Like The Cat. This is serious business. It is a rare declaration for me to not like someone. Oh and she is very much a someone. One of those spazzy things that feels electrical currents around her. One daren’t touch her if she is awake, and not if she is asleep either. I don’t think it is her fault. She came as a kitten into a house full of babies. I don’t imagine she had a lot of gentle in her life. She was messed with and rough housed with. I think they should have gotten a puppy earlier.

Maybe it was her personality from the beginning. She is a brownish calico. With a look in her eyes that says she is trying to zap you from a distance.

I am a self professed Dog Person. This doesn’t mean I am a self professed automatic Cat Hater. It is just that I am not one to walk into a room with a cat and instantly bond with them. I couldn’t care less. I Know how cats work. Their world is their world. They don’t necessarily need me. And that is cool. But I am here if they want to cozy up.  Maybe I am more like them than dogs. I like my personal space. I like to get to know someone before I let them curl up against the back of my knees. And as much as I adore the eagerness of dogs, I respect the distance that cats seem to prefer.

So. The bitchy cat has decided we shall be friends. This has been a progression. We have shared the same living room for nearly 4 months now. And it is only in the last couple of weeks that she has started on this mission to befriend me. Or enslave me. Probably the latter. Could be the weather. Winter is upon us. And my bed in the corner offers a good deal of warmth. Could be that we are unlikely allies in this busy house full of bustling bodies. Whatever it is, I have decided I am open to her intents. She might offer some warmth for my toes in the night after all.

Last night was a big step for us. Up until now her attentions have been subtle. She sits in my vacinity, ignoring me. Lets me touch her head. Purred when I sat on the other end of the couch. But last night she decided to grace the end of my bed with her bountiful presence. She let me half cuddle her. One arm, around her back. She wasn’t there in the morning. But this is progress.

I have an announcement to make. I kind of love this bitchy cat! Photo0535 Photo0540

